skip navigation

2016 Pioneer Classic Midget Minor A Championship

By Scott Cattelino, 09/13/16, 12:45PM MDT


The New Mexico Ice Wolves take on the West Elk Wolverines for Midget Minor title

The 2016 Denver Pioneer Classic Midget Minor A Champions New Mexico Ice Wolves. The Ice Wolves defeated the West Elk Midget Minor A Wolverines 3-1 in the finals

#40 Seth Payson scores the first of his two goals to give New Mexico a 2-0 lead. He would add an empty netter late to seal a 3-1 victory and the Midget Minor A Championship for the Ice Wolves

New Mexico Ice Wolves vs. West Elk Wolverines

     After a scoreless first period, New Mexico's Jeffrey Schetnan scored to put the Ice Wolves up 1-0 late in the second.  Seth Payson (2G, 1A) would score the first of his two goals early in the second period to give New Mexico a 2-0 lead, but Wynton Brown would put West Elk on the board late in the game to make it a 2-1 contest.  West Elk goaltender Hunter Hadsock (30 SV) did everything he could to keep the Wolverines in the game, however, Payson would add a empty net goal late to lock up the 2016 Midget Minor A Pioneer Classic Championship for New Mexico with a 3-1 win.  

Follow us


Recent News